Bloviatrix

cinewinophile

3 Reasons Why The Hingham Wine Merchant is a Great Place to Buy Wine

This is a guest post from Bob Dwyer from The Wellesley Wine Press. This is the next in a series of blog posts that will focus on Boston-area wine stores and some reasons why each is a great place to shop for wine.

There are lot of great wine shops in the metro Boston area, but none get a higher percentage of my wine spend than the Hingham Wine Merchant. Here’s why:

Double Branding

Dick, Duncan, and Sean apply two rounds of sorting on the wines they carry. First, they survey their past experience with respected producers and consult wine publications to find candidate wines. Next, the taste through the wines. Lots of them. Finally, they connect the dots between price and quality to find value. If it doesn’t pass through their filter, it’s not in the shop. As a result, there is no “fat” in the store. If it’s not good- they don’t carry it.

As an example, I remember the first time I went along with one of their suggestions without prior knowledge of the wine. I asked for a nice bottle of Australian Shiraz- I think I asked for Two Hands or some similar name that’s perennially scored highly by Wine Spectator. Dick suggested a 2005 John Duval Entity that was available at a great price. When I got home and checked the Spectator rating I was pleasantly surprised to see the wine received 94 points. Brilliant! Better yet, when I cracked it open I thought it was fantastic. It was one of the few times I’ve bought a wine with such a high rating without specifically seeking it out, and it went a long way towards earning my trust for future purchases.

First Class Events

These guys know how to throw a party. Their events bring together:

  • Really high end wines from the most important wine regions
  • Ample amounts of really good food
  • Elegant ambiance- usually at an interesting location on the South Shore

Attending one of their tastings truly feels like a night on the town; a special occasion. At the end of the event, just drop your order form off and pick your wines up a week or two later. It couldn’t be easier.

Kids’ Play Area

I don’t think I’ve seen another wine shop anywhere that has a kids’ play area. What could be better than a safe environment to keep the little ones happy while you’re making your wine selections? My 4-year-old *loves* a trip to the Wine Merchant, and I don’t blame him. Coloring books, puzzles, cartoons, Hot Wheels and more. Bring the whole family!

Check ’em out:

Hingham Wine Merchant
74 North St
Hingham, MA 02043
(781) 740-9393‎

February 18, 2009 - Posted by | Wine | ,

3 Comments »

  1. A wine store with a kids play area is certainly an interesting idea. I do think in MA you are hurt by the wine import laws in your state.

    Only bad part about taking the kids to tastings is when they start talking about it in school!

    Comment by Mark | November 10, 2009 | Reply

  2. dick graham is the best wine merchant in the usa! 10 thanksgivings ago i happened upon his tiny store. he had an opinion about a zin. i bought it, and 10 years later, despite living miles away, i continue to trek to hingham. thanks to dick i love Spanish wines…just finished a bottle of 04 Alion he sold to me for about $40. saw it on a menu in london for 125 sterling. just another rockin good bottle of wine and great value! thanks Dick !

    Comment by mark | February 6, 2010 | Reply

  3. Thanks for your comment and recommendation. At some point I should make it to Hingham Wine Merchant – this post was written by Bob Dwyer of The Wellesley Wine Press who is nearer than I am. Happy drinking from Groton!

    Comment by bloviatrix | March 15, 2010 | Reply


Leave a comment