Bloviatrix

cinewinophile

L’Avventura – Film Review

Monica Vitti, Gabriele Ferzetti

I thought I would discuss “L’Avventura”, the film directed by Michaelangelo Antonioni and released in 1960, which I watched last night. I really enjoyed the style and feel of “Blow Up”, his famous film starring David Hemmings from the mid-60s. “L’Avventura” is also in black and white and has truly masterful and mesmerizing cinematography. It’s the story of the mysterious disappearance of a young woman on a tiny rocky island off the coast of Sicily. In that sense it sort of reminded me of Peter Wier’s “Picnic At Hanging Rock”. The story itself is not as important as the feelings engendered by eerie, stylized and spare cinematography. Probably the overarching theme is the impermanence of love. I hate when people spoil plot elements so I won’t… the story drags at bit at 2 hours and 20 minutes. The really unusual photography got me to hang in there.

I grade this movie B+ for great visuals and solid performances.

January 17, 2008 - Posted by | Film |

8 Comments »

  1. very heavy on the cheese, i agree

    Comment by purloinedcoin | February 7, 2008 | Reply

  2. But the cheese was photographed so beautifully by DP Aldo Scavarda.

    Comment by bloviatrix | February 7, 2008 | Reply

  3. Loved this movie…absolutely loved it

    Comment by Alfonso | July 1, 2008 | Reply

  4. Hello Alfonso, thanks for checking out my blog. I enjoyed this movie too. La Notte was another quixotic movie directed by Antonioni also starring Monica Vitti. I have to admit to enjoying Blow Up the most of all.

    Comment by bloviatrix | July 1, 2008 | Reply

  5. My personal fave–think it succeeds best in making the location, camera work, & purely visual context further the narrative effectively– is ‘L’Eclisse’. ‘Il Grido’ has some condradiction in levels of stylisation, but I’d have to place it above both ‘Notte’ & ‘Avventura’ for effectivenes…’Notte’ is just so s l o w, it seems to succumb to the empty ennui it portrays, admittedly very effectively!

    Comment by David J | October 13, 2008 | Reply

  6. Hi David – Thanks for the comment and recommendations. I think I will add L’Eclisse and Il Grido to my Netflix queue now. And maybe a few other Antonioni films too, heck. I have seen La Notte and agree with your feelings about how the ennui is so very effectively shown.

    Comment by bloviatrix | October 14, 2008 | Reply

  7. Hi, Sharon– as long as I’m recommending & you’re not the kind of flim buff-ette keeping magnificent Michelangelo at screen’s length as too bleakly existential, I’ll point you towards one of Signore A’s neglected middle period works–
    http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0084116/

    full disclosure: I worked with Tomás Milian once, but did a double take before recognising him here.
    Ten, fifteen years later, same thing: he’s in Soderberg’s ‘Traffic’, & it took me the longest while to recognise him: a woefully neglected character actor.

    Comment by David J | October 15, 2008 | Reply

  8. Thanks for the pointer to ‘Identification’, David. It’s not in Netflix! Nor in my library network. That’s a drag. I like moody, bleak dramas as long as they have style. I’m sure I’ve seen Tomas Milian as well as it looks like he was in ‘Oz’, the gruesome series on HBO that I used to watch.

    Comment by bloviatrix | October 22, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

