Bloviatrix

cinewinophile

Wine Blogging Wednesday #53 – Wine for Breakfast!

El Jefe (Jeff Stai) of El Bloggio Torcido (the Twisted Oak Winery blog) has presented an interesting Wine Blogging Wednesday theme this month: Wine for Breakfast! Or, more accurately, Wine with Breakfast Food. No sparkling wines, nor dessert wines are allowed – only dry red or white table wines.  I do love breakfast foods of all sorts but don’t generally think of the wine pairing possibilities.  I decided to make some sort of omelet (which may end up being scrambled eggs, depending on which pan I’m using) and didn’t have any idea of suitable wine pairing so I decided to use the Wine & Food Matcher applet on Natalie MacLean’s site, Nat Decants. I plugged in Eggs, then Omelet, and out popped its matching wine: Frascati.  Cool – um, what is Frascati? Ah, a nice Italian white wine made in the environs of Rome, Italy! And quite conveniently my most local of local wine stores, Groton Market, had a very reasonably priced example for $7.99, namely the Cantine San Marco Frascati Superiore Secco “CRIO 10″ 2007. And what grapes are in this wine? Well, some unusual, indigenous grape varieties…

“Da uve Malvasia Puntinata del Lazio, Bellone, Trebbiano
Toscano
e Malvasia di Candia con percentuali più consistenti per i primi
due, autoctoni tipici di questa regione.”

There is a nice map of the Frascati DOC on Wein-Plus.com.  Zoom out on the map to see its proximity to Rome.  Frascati the white wine that has been made for a *very long time* from grapes grown on volcanic soils near Rome. It can be dry or sweet, still or sparkling. My example is dry (Secco) and still.  So how well did this wine and food pairing fare? I think, quite well. The wine is quite light-bodied but full of citrus flavors and acidity, and perfect with ‘light’ dishes such as my red pepper and cheese omelet with cranberry-orange scone. This wine is quite a bargain and I do recommend it!

Cantine San Marco Frascati Superiore Secco 2007Omelet

January 13, 2009 - Posted by | Food, Wine | , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. Thanks for giving my wine and food matcher a whirl! (I’m relieved that you liked the pairing, too.) I’d love to hear your suggestions for other matches … the research continues!

    Cheers,
    Natalie

    http://www.nataliemaclean.com

    Nat Decants Wine E-Newsletter

    Comment by Natalie MacLean | January 14, 2009 | Reply

  2. Hi Natalie! Thanks for noticing my blog post! I think the wine-food pairing applet on your site is really cool. I will keep in mind any other pairings that work well in my opinion and forward them to you!
    Cheers, Sharon

    Comment by bloviatrix | January 14, 2009 | Reply

  3. Nice post. Hey, for $7.99, I’m sold. I’ll be on the look out for this wine especially because I love omelets, for breakfast, lunch – heck anytime.

    Comment by ribbie | January 17, 2009 | Reply

  4. Hi Ribbie – thanks for your comment. Looking at your blog, I think we both live in the Boston area and are of a certain (middle) age! Yeah, this wine was nicer than I expected. I love omelets all the time too – and IHOP is a major weakness for me.
    Cheers, Sharon

    Comment by bloviatrix | January 18, 2009 | Reply

  5. It is an interesting concept outside of the normal sparkelers that we associate with breakfast in this country. Can’t say I can think of a wine off hand that would pair well with scrambled eggs, ham and french toast though.

    Comment by Mark's Best Wine Club | May 4, 2010 | Reply

    • Hmmm, where there’s a will there’s a way. Heck, have a samosa.

      Comment by bloviatrix | May 4, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

