Bloviatrix

cinewinophile

Bin Ends 1st Twitter Tasting LIVE

Last night I participated in local wine store Bin Ends 1st Twitter Tasting LIVE event.  Twitter is, as all Web 2.0 cognoscenti know well, a very popular micro-blogging tool.  (Note – I’ve changed my handle from s_r_m to bloviatrix on Twitter to help establish my ‘brand’).  This was a virtual group tasting amongst several well-known wine bloggers (and people like me) to taste 6 wines on offer from Bin Ends and micro-blog their tasting notes/thoughts at a prearranged time, in an established order.  All wines, Spanish in origin, are from importer Eric Solomon‘s portfolio, and he was also online to answer questions, which was very appreciated.

To test the waters as it were I bought a bottle of one of the 6 on offer not from Bin Ends which I haven’t visited yet but my most local of local wine stores, the awesome Groton Market.  I have read wonderful things about Bin Ends and will visit there sometime soon.  I was able to taste and post in Twitter my tasting notes for the 2006 Bodegas Rafael Palacios Valdeorras Louro do Bolo.  My tasting notes are in CellarTracker, and if you are interested, please look at my CellarTracker notes on the right side of my blog.

I applaud Bin Ends for this effort to integrate a traditional wine tasting event with Web 2.0 technology, and look forward to participating in future tastings.  However, I would suggest that Twitter as such is not the best sort of platform for this kind of event.  I have recently seen 2 kinds of communication technology platforms that are perhaps better suited: 1) Seesmic video blogging conversations, 2) Friendfeed rooms, and example of which is here.  Or really just any dedicated chat forum where regular traffic is weeded out.

Cheers to Ryan and Gabriella Opaz of Spanish and Portugese wine blog Catavino for staying up til past 1AM their time in Spain to participate.  Finding one good time for a world-wide, virtual event is always a challenge.

July 18, 2008 - Posted by | Wine | , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. I feel dissed.

    Comment by Terry Hughes | July 18, 2008 | Reply

  2. Terry, please don’t be a silly Strappo. If I had a fraction of your writing talent I would be molto felice.

    Comment by bloviatrix | July 18, 2008 | Reply

  3. I agree… I have never participated in one but a friendfeed room does seem like a “better” place for this type of event.

    Comment by Marco Montez | July 18, 2008 | Reply

  4. Hi Marco, thanks for your comment. I like friendfeed, if people don’t mind signing up for another social networking tool. Or Bin Ends can get a video camera and do it up visually on Seesmic! And people can post video replies or written comments. I’m sure there are other options as well.

    Comment by bloviatrix | July 19, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

