Bloviatrix

cinewinophile

Wine Blogging Wednesday #47 – Sharon Sips Sangria Made with Shiraz on a Sunny Sunday with her Salad

This month’s Wine Blogging Wednesday theme is ‘brought to you by the letter S’, and is hosted by Grape Juice, A Wine Blog. The letter S should figure prominently in the wine name, country, varietal, producer, appellation, vineyard, or really in any way at all!  I assume the folks at Grape Juice are fans of Sesame Street, brought to you by PBS since 1969.  Here is one of my fave bits from Sesame Street.  James Earl Jones sounds particularly Darth Vader-like at ‘Y’.

So being Summer and all, I thought it would be cool to make a nice Sangria.  And why not with a Special varietal like Shiraz/Syrah?  I chose the Torbeck Woodcutter’s Shiraz 2006 and used this recipe for Sparkling Cranberry Orange Sangria which looked pretty yummy from wineintro.com.  Except I didn’t use the Cranberry liqueur as I don’t have any in-house.

The Shiraz by itself is meaty, fruit forward, well-made, concentrated, with smooth tannins and a good finish.  The Sangria is mostly fruit juice and it super refreshing.  I used pulpy O.J. and cranberry-pomegranate juice (100% juice) as I avoid any juice with high fructose corn syrup in it.  I used this over-the-top decanter I bought at Pier 1 a few months ago.

I’m late with this posting.  I actually imbibed another S-intensive wine on Wednesday but didn’t write down the tasting notes at dinner.  OopS.

July 13, 2008 - Posted by | Wine | ,

3 Comments »

  1. [...] went a bit off the beaten track and made a super Sparkling Cranberry Orange Sangria out of the 2006 Torbreck Woodcutter’s Shiraz.  She’s even posted up a vintage Sesame Street clip to get you all in the mood; personally I [...]

    Pingback by WBW #47 Round-Up: Spectacular Selections! — Grape Juice: A Wine Blog Archive | July 20, 2008 | Reply

  2. I’ve had that Torbreck! Tasty! They make a nice Grenache as well!

    Comment by Dale Cruse | July 20, 2008 | Reply

  3. Hi Dale, how are ya. I’d probably like the Grenache too as I like Southern Rhone blends. Although it looks like their pure Grenache cuvee ‘Les Amis’ is way too pricey to put in Sangria :-).

    Comment by bloviatrix | July 20, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

