Bloviatrix

cinewinophile

Wine Blogging Wednesday #42 – 7 Word Challenge

Wine Blogging Wednesday

This month’s Wine Blogging Wednesday theme is hosted by Spittoon. The task this month is to describe an Italian red wine in 7 words – no more, no less. This is sort of an easy challenge for someone like me whose tasting notes are pretty minimalist anyway. My choice for this assignment (which I choose to accept) is the La Corte Salice Salentino 2005. Cost: $10. This is 80-85% Negroamaro and 15-20% Malvasia Nera. It comes from a region in Italy (Puglia) on the ‘heel’ of the ‘boot’. I was seduced into buying this by an enthusiastic hand-written shelf-talker at Colonial Spirits. Here is a view of the bottle with my trusty watch-Hedgehog Prickles keeping a close eye on the situation:

La Corte Salice Salentino 2005

So… OK, a somewhat oaky nose w/dark fruits (mainly plums) and beets? On the palate, pretty acidic/sour, medium bodied, lighting up my bitterness taste buds, not terribly tannic, not fruit-forward enough for me. Like most Italian reds, screaming for Italian food pairing! Yes, better with cheese. Now for the 7 word summation:

Salice Salentino Is Too Bitter For Me

February 13, 2008 - Posted by | Wine | ,

6 Comments »

  1. Italian reds are good for cutting thru greasy/cheesy foods on their own tend to give me heartburn

    Comment by Mark | February 14, 2008 | Reply

  2. What really gives me heartburn is Mike’s Hard Lemonade. I can’t touch the stuff. I’m not sure of the evil ingredient in there that feels like it’s boring a hole in my stomach.

    Comment by bloviatrix | February 14, 2008 | Reply

  3. I’ve had some good ones in the past but certainly hearty food is required! Italian reds in general are food-wines I find. Thanks for taking part. Next time lets hope the wine is more enjoyable.

    Comment by Andrew | February 15, 2008 | Reply

  4. I reviewed the Taurino Salice Salentino from 2001. And once you mentioned beets I said, “Yes! THAT’s what that is!” Nice one. Except I love this wine – in part because I am not a fruit-forward person…salud!

    Comment by hshaw | February 15, 2008 | Reply

  5. [...] So they’ve posted this month’s roundup, and here is another review of a Salice [...]

    Pingback by WBW #42: Salice Salentino | February 15, 2008 | Reply

  6. [...] luscious berries” Wine Connections : “Two scoops of raisins in every swallow.” Bloviatrix’s Website : “Salice Salentino Is Too Bitter For Me” Smells Like Grape : “Victoriana is now [...]

    Pingback by WBW Just 7 Words – the round-up - Spittoon.biz | Spittoon.biz | November 21, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

